“Bottom line is, even if you see them coming, you're not ready for the big moments. No one asks for their life to change, not really. But it does.
So, what are we, helpless? Puppets? Nah. The big moments are gonna come, you can't help that. It's what you do afterwards that counts. That's
when you find out who you are." - Joss Whedon

Thursday, September 20, 2012

PLEASE Advocate for the Adoption Tax Credit THIS WEEK

Please Help Save the Adoption Tax Credit
A Message from NACAC

If your U.S. Representative is a Republican or a member of the House Ways & Means Committee, it is especially important for you to ask them this week to sign on as a cosponsor of H.R. 4373. This bill—the Making Adoption Affordable Act—would make the adoption tax credit permanent and refundable.

This bill and this issue is bipartisan. Last week, the bill gained seven Democratic cosponsors, and we need to work together to keep this bill's bipartisan balance. And the Ways & Means Committee will help shape any tax reform taken up in the House so its members are critically important. Below is a list of members of the Ways & Means Committee (sorted by state) who have not yet signed on to H.R. 4373:
  • CA: Wally Herger, Devin Nunes, Xavier Becerra, & Mike Thompson
  • CT: John B. Larson
  • FL: Vern Buchanan
  • GA: Tom Price & John Lewis
  • IL: Peter J. Roskam & Aaron Schock
  • KS: Lynn Jenkins
  • KY: Geoff Davis
  • LA: Charles W. Boustany Jr.
  • MA Richard E. Neal
  • MI: Dave Camp (chair) & Sander Levin (ranking member)
  • MN: Erik Paulsen, MN
  • ND: Rick Berg
  • NE: Adrian Smith
  • NJ: Bill Pascrell Jr.
  • NV: Shelley Berkley
  • NY: Tom Reed & Joseph Crowley
  • OH: Pat Tiberi
  • OR: Earl Blumenauer
  • PA: Jim Gerlach
  • TN Diane Black
  • TX: Sam Johnson, Kenny Marchant, Lloyd Doggett, & Kevin Brady
  • WA: Dave Reichert
  • WI: Paul Ryan & Ron Kind
Please take a moment this week to urge your federal Representative to become a cosponsor of H.R. 4373. (Click here to view the current list of cosponors.)

Find your Representative
If you know your Representative, simply call the Capitol hotline at 202-224-3121.

Be sure to share the bipartisan Dear Colleague letter issued by Representatives Bruce Braley (D-IA) and Jo Ann Emerson (R-MO).

No comments: